The 4 C's... determine diamond value:

Color... in white diamonds is ideally the absence of color.
  • The top color is "D" which is completely colorless with more body color being noticeable as
    the color grade decreases down the alphabetic scale (E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, M, ... Z).
    Naturally colored diamonds also exist but their color is graded on a different scale.

Clarity... is the size of inclusions visible within the diamond under 10 power magnification
(10X loupe)
  • "IF" (internally flawless) means no inclusions are visible under 10X loupe.
  • "VVS" (very very slightly) inclusions are very difficult to see under 10X loupe. For the
    average consumer, inclusions qualifying for a "VVS" grading would not be noticeable even
    when viewed under 10X.
  • "VS" (very slightly) inclusions are easy to see under 10X loupe. The average consumer
    would be able to see the inclusions with some difficulty.
  • "SI" (slightly included) inclusions are very easy to see under 10X loupe, with an "SI 2" rating
    sometimes visible without the aid of magnification.
  • "I" (included) inclusions are visible without the aid of 10X magnification and are potentially
    damaging to the diamond.

Cut... is shape (round, square, rectangle, oval, pear) and the cutting style which gives the
diamond its characteristic brilliance and fire. Popular cutting styles are:
  • round brilliant
  • princess
  • radiant
  • oval
  • pear
  • emerald.

Carat... is a unit of weight commonly used for gemstones
  • One carat is equal to 0.20 grams so a 5 carat diamond weighs 1 gram.
  • One carat is further subdivided into 100 points, so a 0.75 carat diamond is 75 points
DALEJO © 1993 - 2016 Any comments on this site contact